Newest// Older// GuestBook// Email Me// Diary Rings// Diaryland


2003-12-09 - 7:51 p.m.
Woohoo! Got to talk to the wonderful Peter tonight! We chatted about everything. Here are some little snippets from the convo.

Peter says:

And they all lived happily ever after!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

What did you watch?

Peter says:

The Dish.

Peter says:

Can't interrupt the moonlanding!

Peter says:

Seen it?

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I've heard of it, but I've never seen it.

Peter says:

See it!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Ok I will! :P

Peter says:

It's wonderful. Warm, funny, feel-good, polished, wonderful.

Later.....

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

What made you decide to take lessons?

Peter says:

What a good question!

Peter says:

Two things really. One is flight. Flight is life. Life is flight. To fly is good. It is good to fly. Flight is a virtue.

Peter says:

It seems to run in the family a bit

Peter says:

The other reason which acts upon that is that I live just over town from the airfield, so every weekend I see them up there. Torrrrture!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

So you figured "Hey, I bet I could do that!"

Peter says:

So I had to do it. No choice, really! No choice at all.

Peter says:

It was more "I want some of that!"

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

lol

Peter says:

It still takes my head apart. Yesterday I was sloping around the sky and it was all coming together so well, especislly after earlier shaky flights. As well as monitoring speed, altitude, attitude, yaw, sink rate, other traffic, radio and location, I was staring out of the window and enjoying the lunatic view. The "work" parts are becoming habit so I can sit back and enjoy it!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Well I'm glad you're doing something that keeps you happy and busy

Peter says:

The other great thing about it is that it is *difficult* - and to do something that hard, and have it go off well, is a wonderful feeling.

Peter says:

Landing involves simultaneous operation of four different controls. To do that and come out the other end... fantastic!

Peter says:

So yes - errrrr - I seem to enjoy it!

Peter says:

You can tell, can't you!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Yeah

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

It's fun listening to you talk about it

Peter says:

I enjoy mooooovies too!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I enjoy them toooooo

Even later........

Peter says:

It's as well you don't have swordlike fingernails as some people do!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I have NO nails because I have a bad habit of chewing them!

Peter says:

I used to. I don't now.

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I've done it since I was younger.

Peter says:

Aye, I did. Then one day when I was about 16 I decided "I'm not going to do this anymore." But I did. So I decided "No, I'm really not going to do this any more." Then I didn't. Just like that.

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I'm trying to grow them out.

Peter says:

Out!?

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Huh?

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Grow them........

Peter says:

What does "grow them out" mean?

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Oops. I meant stop chewing them so they can....grow.........um....

More later still......

Peter says:

I don't know what "not ready to drive" means. "Not ready to have the means to easily go where you will and depend on no-one." Sounds a bit odd to me.

Peter says:

It's a tremendous feeling of freedom and independence.

Peter says:

And a bit of that technical achievement buzz that I was talking about re gliding.

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Well I've kinda had some nightmares about driving and that's part of the reason why.

Peter says:

Face them!

Peter says:

They'll go away.

Peter says:

I promise.

A little later......

Peter says:

I'm scared of heights!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I'm kinda scared of heights

Peter says:

So I fly. Hmmm!!!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

hehe

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

I've never been on a rollercoaster either. The thought of going upside down and around and around isn't really my thing. But I ALMOST went on one last year.

Peter says:

Oooh yeah, they really turn me inside out. Very, very height-scary!!!!!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

When I say ALMOST, I mean that I actually DID get in line, then chickened out as the line got closer. lol

Peter says:

Chick-chick-chicken!!!!

Melissa AKA Medicine says:

Damn proud of it too!

HAHA! See we never run out of things to talk about.



previous - next