Newest// Older// GuestBook// Email Me// Diary Rings// Diaryland

2002-04-11 - 11:47 a.m.
DUDE!! GOOD NEWS!!!!! Read!

'Spider-Man' Theme To Come Courtesy Of Aerosmith

Complete track list for film's soundtrack announced.

by Joe D'Angelo


Photo: Columbia

For his next musical offering, Steven Tyler will be singing about slinging.

Tyler and his Aerosmith bandmates are contributing their version of the "Theme From Spider-Man" ("Spider-Man, Spider-Man, does whatever a spider can ...") to the soundtrack for the live-action feature, according to a Columbia Records spokesperson. The LP, composed of tracks exclusive to the soundtrack as well as previously released album cuts, is set for release April 30.

Sum41's recently recorded studio version of "What We're All About" will serve as the soundtrack's first single. A live version of the song appears on the Canadian quartet's four-song EP, Motivation. "What We're All About (Original Version)" will be trailed by second-single "Hero," a new track by Nickelback singer/guitarist Chad Kroeger, Saliva frontman Josey Scott, Pearl Jam drummer Matt Cameron and guitarist Tyler Connolly of Theory of a Dead Man, whose debut album Kroeger is producing. The group shot a video for the track March 24 (see "Nickelback, Saliva Pearl Jam Members Make 'Hero' Sandwich For Spidey").

Macy Gray, who has a cameo role in the film, has allowed Rage Against the Machine's Tom Morello to remix her "My Nutmeg Phantasy," which originally appeared on last year's The Id, for the soundtrack. Former Oingo Boingo frontman Danny Elfman, who composed the theme to "The Simpsons" as well as scores for the films "Batman," "Beetlejuice" and "Planet of the Apes," wrote the movie's main title theme and penned the track "Farewell." The LP also includes the original composition of the "Theme From Spider-Man," which was used in the 1960s cartoon series, and was also once recorded by the Ramones (for 1995's various-artists compilation Saturday Morning Cartoons' Greatest Hits).

Other contributions to the soundtrack include new tracks from Alien Ant Farm ("Bug Bytes") and Slipknot's Corey Taylor ("Bother"), and album cuts from Default, the Strokes and Pete Yorn, among others (see "Sum41, Alien Ant Farm Spin Songs For 'Spider-Man' ").

"Spider-Man," starring Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst, hits theaters May 3.

The complete track list for the soundtrack to "Spider-Man," according to Columbia Records:

"Theme From Spider-Man" (original version)

Chad Kroeger featuring Josey Scott, Matt Cameron and Tyler Connolly - "Hero"

Sum41 - "What We're All About (The Original Version)"

Black Lab - "Learn to Crawl"

Bleu - "Somebody Else"

Alien Ant Farm - "Bug Bytes"

Default - "Blind"

Corey Taylor - "Bother"

Greenwheel - "Shelter"

The Strokes - "When It Started"

The Hives - "Hate to Say I Told You So"

Theory of a Dead Man - "Invisible Man"

Pete Yorn - "Undercover"

Macy Gray - "My Nutmeg Phantasy (Tom Morello remix)"

Injected - "I-IV-V"

Jerry Cantrell - "She Was My Girl"

Danny Elfman - "Main Titles"

Danny Elfman - "Farewell"

Aerosmith - "Theme From Spider-Man"

previous - next